Women in White Coats

For fans of Hidden Figures and Radium Girls comes the remarkable story of three Victorian women who broke down barriers in the medical field to become the first women doctors, revolutionizing the way women receive health care.

Women in White Coats

Women in White Coats

For fans of Hidden Figures and Radium Girls comes the remarkable story of three Victorian women who broke down barriers in the medical field to become the first women doctors, revolutionizing the way women receive health care. In the early 1800s, women were dying in large numbers from treatable diseases because they avoided receiving medical care. Examinations performed by male doctors were often demeaning and even painful. In addition, women faced stigma from illness--a diagnosis could greatly limit their ability to find husbands, jobs or be received in polite society. Motivated by personal loss and frustration over inadequate medical care, Elizabeth Blackwell, Elizabeth Garrett Anderson and Sophia Jex-Blake fought for a woman's place in the male-dominated medical field. For the first time ever, Women in White Coats tells the complete history of these three pioneering women who, despite countless obstacles, earned medical degrees and paved the way for other women to do the same. Though very different in personality and circumstance, together these women built women-run hospitals and teaching colleges--creating for the first time medical care for women by women. With gripping storytelling based on extensive research and access to archival documents, Women in White Coats tells the courageous history these women made by becoming doctors, detailing the boundaries they broke of gender and science to reshape how we receive medical care today.

More Books:

Women in White Coats
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Olivia Campbell
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-03-15 - Publisher: Park Row Books

For fans of Hidden Figures and Radium Girls comes the remarkable story of three Victorian women who broke down barriers in the medical field to become the first women doctors, revolutionizing the way women receive health care. In the early 1800s, women were dying in large numbers from treatable diseases
The Chronicles of Women in White Coats
Language: en
Pages: 292
Authors: Amber Robins,, Kena Shah, Kena Shah Do, Natasha Sriraman, Mia Ben, Bande Virgil, Surabhi Batra, Alana Biggers, Angela Freehill, Charmaine Gregory, Peaesha Houston, Danielle Johnson, Julia Knarreborg, Yulia Johnson, Danielle Lombardi, Nina Lum, Alexandra Pinon, Maria Perez-Johnson, Liliana Rojas, Archana Shrestha, Kendra Segura
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-04-23 - Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

Becoming a doctor is where the story begins for the authors of "The Chronicles of Women in White Coats". These twenty doctors give you a peek into their personal and professional lives while highlighting their roles as mothers, wives, caregivers, daughters, best friends, and so much more. From stories of
The Chronicles of Women in White Coats 3
Language: en
Pages: 176
Authors: Archana Shrestha, Keia Hewitt, Kristin Yates
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-31 - Publisher: Independently Published

The Chronicles of Women in White Coats 3 gives you a chance to look into the lives of women doctors through their stories. From their personal and professional narratives, these women discuss their many roles at work and home. You'll get a glimpse of the journey into medicine that includes
The Chronicles of Women in White Coats 2
Language: en
Pages: 194
Authors: Archana Shrestha, Tameka Blake, Kimberly Brown
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-05-29 - Publisher:

The Chronicles of Women in White Coats 2 gives you an up close and personal view of what it is like to be a female doctor in America. From being a healthcare worker on the front lines to carrying the roles of mothers, wives, sisters, daughters and friends, these 10
The White Coat Effect
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: L.B. Wells
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-05-17 - Publisher: L.B. Wells

Sometimes, even a doctor isn't good enough for some parents. Meet Rory, a young Jewish medical student "making the rounds" in search for the love of her life. After a series of bedroom mishaps, she decides to pursue surgery where she meets Amir, her Arabian prince. Hot, passionate love ensues

Popular All Time

Raising Good Humans
Moms on Call Next Steps Baby Care: 6-15 Months
Life With Toddlers: 3 Simple Strategies to Ease the Struggle and Raise Happy, Healthy Toddlers
How to Raise an Adult
Moms on Call Basic Baby Care: 0-6 Months
Spirit Babies
Oh Crap! Potty Training
Dibs: In Search of Self
Third Culture Kids 3rd Edition
Bringing Up Bébé
Cribsheet
No-Drama Discipline
Stepmonster
Being at Your Best When Your Kids Are at Their Worst
Raising Men
The Whole-Brain Child
On Becoming Baby Wise - 25th Anniversary Edition: Giving Your Infant the Gift of Nightime Sleep
Moms on Call Toddler Book