The Sweetness of Water

But this sanctuary survives on a knife's edge, and it isn't long before the inhabitants of the nearby town of Old Ox react with fury at the alliances being formed only a few miles away . . . '[A] highly accomplished debut' Sunday Times ...

The Sweetness of Water

The Sweetness of Water

**LONGLISTED FOR THE 2021 BOOKER PRIZE** A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER, OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK, AND BARACK OBAMA SUMMER READING 2021 SELECTION 'A fine, lyrical novel, impressive in its complex interweaving of the grand and the intimate, of the personal and political' Observer An extraordinary novel of life after slavery for readers of WASHINGTON BLACK, THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD and DAYS WITHOUT END. In the dying days of the American Civil War, newly freed brothers Landry and Prentiss find themselves cast into the world without a penny to their names. Forced to hide out in the woods near their former Georgia plantation, they're soon discovered by the land's owner, George Walker, a man still reeling from the loss of his son in the war. When the brothers begin to live and work on George's farm, the tentative bonds of trust and union begin to blossom between the strangers. But this sanctuary survives on a knife's edge, and it isn't long before the inhabitants of the nearby town of Old Ox react with fury at the alliances being formed only a few miles away . . . '[A] highly accomplished debut' Sunday Times Readers have been swept away by The Sweetness of Water: 'Such a powerful, magnificent book; I urge you to read it. The comparisons with Colson Whitehead are justified' ***** 'A staggering debut and a story that stays with you' ***** 'Thought-provoking and moving . . . a gripping and compelling novel that exposes flaws, mixed emotions and imperfect relationships, and yet it holds on with determination and hope. It fully deserves a 5-star rating' ***** 'Outstanding . . . A book that deserves widespread recognition and a wide audience' *****

More Books:

The Sweetness of Water
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Nathan Harris
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-15 - Publisher: Hachette UK

**LONGLISTED FOR THE 2021 BOOKER PRIZE** A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER, OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK, AND BARACK OBAMA SUMMER READING 2021 SELECTION 'A fine, lyrical novel, impressive in its complex interweaving of the grand and the intimate, of the personal and political' Observer An extraordinary novel of life after slavery
Gap Creek
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Robert Morgan
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-08-21 - Publisher: Algonquin Books

A New York Times Bestseller & Oprah's Book Club Pick Young Julie Harmon works “hard as a man,” they say, so hard that at times she’s not sure she can stop. People depend on her to slaughter the hogs and nurse the dying. People are weak, and there is so
Lila (Oprah's Book Club)
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Marilynne Robinson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-10-07 - Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award National Book Award Finalist A new American classic from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Gilead and Housekeeping Marilynne Robinson, one of the greatest novelists of our time, returns to the town of Gilead in an unforgettable story of a girlhood lived on
The Underground Railroad (Pulitzer Prize Winner) (National Book Award Winner) (Oprah's Book Club)
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Colson Whitehead
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-08-02 - Publisher: Anchor

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award, this #1 New York Times bestseller chronicles a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South Cora is a slave on a cotton plantation in Georgia. An outcast even among her fellow Africans,
Drowning Ruth (Oprah's Book Club)
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Christina Schwarz
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-04-07 - Publisher: Hachette UK

No. 1 New York Times bestseller: 'Powerful... Suspenseful... chilling' New York Times Christina Schwarz's bestselling novel DROWNING RUTH is a powerful and shocking psychological drama, for everyone who loved THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS or THE TENDERNESS OF WOLVES. At the close of World War One, Amanda Starkey leaves the city

Popular All Time

How to Relax
101 Essays That Will Change the Way You Think
The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck
The Four Agreements
The Body Keeps the Score
The Permanent Weight Loss Plan
The 48 Laws of Power
Healthy at Last
What Happened to You?
The Power of Now
You Are a Badass®
Think and Grow Rich
The Secret
Man's Search for Meaning
Adult Children of Emotionally Immature Parents
12 Rules for Life
Codependent No More
Winning